NTIBN Holds AGM with Record-Breaking Attendance

Darwin – 29 November 2023 – The Northern Territory Indigenous Business Network (NTIBN) held its 2023 Annual General Meeting (AGM) on Wednesday, 29 November, with a record turnout of members connecting virtually from Darwin, Katherine, Tennant Creek, and Alice Springs.

NTIBN’s AGM highlighted the organisation’s significant impact in fostering a thriving Indigenous business ecosystem. Members expressed their appreciation for the essential resources, support, and networking opportunities provided by NTIBN, which have been instrumental in their success. This strong engagement demonstrates the value of NTIBN’s role as a powerful advocate for Indigenous businesses.

The AGM marked a pivotal transition of leadership, with the appointment of Naomi Anstess as the new Chairperson. Naomi brings a wealth of knowledge and expertise to the helm, having successfully managed her own business, “SaltBlack,” and played a pivotal role in steering NTIBN’s growth over the past three years. Naomi is an Indigenous economic development thought leader and unapologetic change maker. Her passion for supporting Territory Aboriginal business is driven by her belief that it will be through business and strong, self determined generation of wealth that we will close the gap.

Building upon this momentum, Tyson Carmody was appointed Deputy Chairperson. Tyson is the founder and managing director of Kings Narrative, who’s business operates on Arrernte Country, in Mparntwe. Tyson is trusted narrative therapist, community leader, and proud Arrernte man, who brings a unique blend of experience and passion to the role including a demonstrated understanding of the challenges and opportunities faced by Indigenous businesses. His appointment supports stronger representation for the Central Australia and Barkly regions.

NTIBN expressed its gratitude to outgoing acting Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson Kim Hill for his dedication and leadership. NTIBN also extends its appreciation to outgoing board members Jessie Risk, Nova Pomare, Michael Rotumah, and Jason Jones for their invaluable contributions and advocacy. Their collective efforts have left an incredible mark on NTIBN’s future trajectory of success.

Naomi Anstess stated, “It is an absolute honour to receive the endorsement of our members. As we move forward, armed with a dynamic new board and an exceptional operations team, our journey will be robust, unapologetic and nation building because NTIBN is doing the most important work in the nation right now”.

NTIBN will soon announce additional board members after the first meeting is held.   We are confident that the combined expertise and dedication of our new board, will provide the strategic direction and leadership needed to continue championing the interests of our Indigenous business sector.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *